The honeymoon is well and truly over!

IMG_0231

Image @ copyright 2009 Triggers Photography (my other business!)

I’ve been a bit slack updating the blog over the last couple of months but I have to say it’s for good reason –  I’ve been busy frantically planning my wedding!  I thought my experience in planning campaigns would have put me in good stead but I was woefully underprepared for the management skills and associated stress that goes into planning a wedding! Anyhow, I’m pleased to say the day was a rip-roaring success and without doubt the most remarkable day in my life.  The honeymoon in the Seychelles was equally amazing although judging by the cost I can safely say it was not only the holiday of a lifetime but quite possibly the only holiday in my lifetime!

In some ways, social media has enjoyed a similar honeymoon period where we’ve all enjoyed the initial euphoria and excitement of being involved in this fascinating new era in digital marketing.   But I think the days of exploration and experimentation are largely behind us now.  Had we not had the recession the honeymoon period may well have lasted a few more years but with marketing budgets being heavily scrutinised and becoming ever-increasingly accountable, few brands can afford the luxury of embarking on social media campaigns on a whim and a prayer.

As we approach what Gartner’s Hype Cycle describes as the ‘Trough of Disillusionment‘, only the most considered and well-thought out social media campaigns and technologies will emerge as we pursue our enduring love affair with this exciting phenomenon.

The honeymoon was fun whilst it lasted.

Leave a comment